Chinese New Year

Errrrrr where the hell did January go? Did it just pack its bags and get on the first flight to Disappear? It’s already February, and with that comes Chinese New Year.

I haven’t spent Chinese New Year with my extended family in 5 years. What I remember of it is receiving Ang Pow or “Red Envelope” (with money inside) and stuffing my face until my stomach takes revenge and pains me for the rest of the night. Oh and watching my aunties and Popo (grandma) play Mahjong. They always look so serious playing it. Like this -.- <– (No racial stereotypes intended).

But with every festive occasion, there are “those” encounters with family that inevitably come with questions and statements like:

“Wow you gained weight huh?”

“So, where’s your boyfriend?” (“Errrr….I don’t have one” *awkward silence* – is usually the answer) and occasionally I get a bit of “the pity look” and get asked “Why lah”.

and of course the “So what’re you doing now?”

So…I’m really looking forward to that 😉

And on most previous family do’s, my little cousins were always way too young to have fun playing with, but they’re older now and they’re hilarious! So I am quite looking forward to spending a little time with them. Makes me feel like a kid again. Thinking about it now…I probably shouldn’t have slept at 5 am this morning. Not only do I have work today, but the Chinese New Year dinner is tonight. I have a feeling I’m going to be sleeping in a LONG time tomorrow. Working off those CNY calories, obviously.

I’m hoping for awesome food and a fairly early night (and it doesn’t really have to be said but…ang pow!!!! – I know you’re all rooting for the same thing…DON’T LIE!).

Gong Xi Fa Chai to all that are celebrating! 🙂

 

© Bianca Li Wei Brand and biancadventures, 2009 – Present.

Leave a Reply

