Resolutions? Nahhhh…

In a couple days will be the dawn of a new year. 2011. And with every new year, there is of course the impending question…what are your new years resolutions? That impending question leads us to try to come up with resolutions of what we want to achieve for the year and for most people like myself, these resolutions are generally never met and by the end of the year are left unachieved.

The more common resolutions perhaps include aims like losing weight, going to the gym more and oh I don’t know…starting some kick-ass extreme sport to be cool. The less common could be trying to be less of a douchebag towards humanity or eating more vegetables. Sure it makes you feel better and perhaps for a couple of days you might instill this “new you” but in the end the majority of us give up (after a couple of days) and the life you lived the previous year takes over once more and lays stagnant and unchanged.

This, I’m sure, inevitably makes you look back on yourself and think “Man…I really wanted to change for the better, live a healthier life, be different. I am so disappointed in myself…” Well to this, Mr. 2011 Resolutions Man, I say NO!

Not this year my friend. And do you know why? Because I’m not going to make any resolutions. What I am going to do though, is this. I AM going to be a happier person. I’m not going to say “I’m going to try to do x amount of things”, no. In the wise words of Yoda, “Do or do not, there is no try.” And with these words I shall enter 2011 like how one might enter a deep blue pool – CANNONBALLLLLL! Take a plunge…say YES since my last answer of 2010 is a NO (a big fat no to resolutions).

Without resolutions to achieve in a year, you won’t disappoint yourself and you won’t feel like a massive failure at the end of the year. Instead just say “This year? This year I’m going to kick butt. That’s what I’m going to do. In fact…I already kick butt.” None of this “I’m gonna try and go to the gym more” bull.

I am going to kick butt. Big jiggly booty butt. All my “resolutions” are sub categories of “kick butt”. Sure I have a bunch of things I’d like to do…start, stop and continue. But making them resolutions just because it’s a new year isn’t going to motivate me as much as someone saying to me “If you achieve this I’ll kiss my own ass” (maybe I have to find someone who will promise that)…

Whatever it is, do it. Not because it’s a new year, do it because it will make you happy.

Coming to the end of this…I’ve rethought my strategy already. Okay, so I’m still not going to make new years resolutions…I’m making life resolutions. Cos’ from previous experience, I think one year to achieve the stuff I want to achieve is too short a time frame. Or maybe just go with the flow. I’m indecisive. But either way, no new years resolutions. So take that 2011 (and every other year to come)!

 

© Bianca Li Wei Brand and biancadventures, 2009 – Present.

Leave a Reply

