Electro-swing band; Caravan Palace

I came across this band a fair few months ago whilst still at uni. I had just heard “Gramophonedzie – Why Don’t You”, had an eargasm and started frantically searching (with a mad look in my eye, I’m pretty sure) for hours on end for more electro-swing bands/videos on youtube. Ah youtube, what a gem of a website huh? The amount of time spent on that website…But, I digress…

I actually heard “Why Don’t You” from one of my friends’ DJ sets in Bristol so thank you Ali Donald and Jamie Barnish (AKA MisMatch) for bringing electro-swing into my life.

After searching a while and coming across many a catchy song, Caravan Palace found a place on my playlist (and my heart). An electro-swing band from France, these Parisians just churn out the tunes, one after another.

As soon as I heard this bands’ songs, I absolutely could not stop listening to them. I found myself constantly hitting the “back” button to listen to “Jolie Coquine” and “Suzy” over and over. You could probably call it bandiction (band addiction). Not only is their music catchy, their music videos are absolute gold too. Listen and be prepared to love, especially if you like electro, swing, creative music videos or all of the above.

The music videos have an artsy 1920’s feel to them, with interesting twists and great technique. Do check them out when you have the time.

I leave you with the links to the aforementioned songs.

Gramophonedzie – Why Don’t You

Caravan Palace – Jolie Coquine

Caravan Palace – Suzy

If you enjoy this sort of music then you should also check out:

Mr. Scruff – “Get A Move On”

Jurassic 5 – “Swing Set”

Yolanda Be Cool Vrs DCup – “We No Speak Americano”

You know what…there were too many good songs, so I just made a kick-ass playlist because I was feeling inspired. Take that up the bum boredom! I’m obviously spending my time wisely.

http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=6B764541B316BB32

 

© Bianca Li Wei Brand and biancadventures, 2009 – Present.

Leave a Reply

